

Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Councillors' Forum

Thursday, 20 October 2022

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

Item Decisions and actions

7 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chairman welcomed members to the forum.

The Chairman congratulated the following members for their peerage nominations:

- Teresa O'Neill OBE Leader of the Council in London Borough of Bexley, Vice Chair on London Councils; Deputy Chair of LGA
- Sharon Taylor OBE Leader of Stevenage Borough Council, various roles previously at LGA including membership of Executive Advisory Board
- Dr Fiona Twycross Deputy Mayor of London for Fire and Resilience, Deputy Chair of the LGA's Fire Services Management Committee
- Kuldip Singh Sahota Labour Councillor at Telford and Wrekin Council

8 Chairman's Update

The Chairman introduced his report updating on recent work of the LGA,

9 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chairman invited the following Chairs to update on the work of their Board:

- Community Wellbeing Board Cllr David Fothergill
- Culture, Tourism and Sport Board Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson

10 Any other business that Chairman considers urgent

The Chairman invited Cllr Andrew Western, Chair of the Resources Board, to give a presentation and lead a discussion on cost pressures work of the LGA, including the LGA submission: Government's Medium Fiscal Plan.



Key asks included in the submission related to the following:

- Adult social care
- Children's social care
- Cost of living
- Local growth

Members discussed the following topics:

- Interest rates impact on capital programmes and housing projects
- Costs pressures impacts on cost recovery within planning
- The impact on the Housing Revenue Account business plans
- Support for children with special educational needs and disabilities

11 Digest of the last meeting held on 21 July 2022

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.

Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Vice-Chairman	Cllr James Jamieson OBE Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	Central Bedfordshire Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council
Deputy-chairman		
Members	Cllr Anntoinette Bramble Cllr Craig Browne Cllr Penny Channer Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Cllr Kelham Cooke Cllr Hannah Dalton Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr David Fothergill Cllr John Fuller OBE Cllr Keith Glazier Cllr Peter Golds CBE Cllr Georgia Gould Cllr Damien Greenhalgh Cllr Mike Haines Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Richard Henry Cllr Georgina Hill Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr Anthony Hunt Cllr Nicholas Jones Cllr Heather Kidd Cllr Rory Love OBE	Hackney London Borough Council Cheshire East Council Maldon District Council Breckland District Council South Kesteven District Council Epsom and Ewell District Council Plymouth City Council Somerset County Council South Norfolk District Council East Sussex County Council Tower Hamlets Council Camden Council High Peak Borough Council and Derbyshire County Council Teignbridge District Council Durham County Council Stevenage Borough Council Northumberland Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Torfaen County Borough Council Bury Metropolitan Borough Shropshire Council Kent County Council
	Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Richard Henry Cllr Georgina Hill Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr Anthony Hunt Cllr Nicholas Jones Cllr Heather Kidd	Teignbridge District Council Durham County Council Stevenage Borough Council Northumberland Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Torfaen County Borough Council Bury Metropolitan Borough Shropshire Council



Cllr Colin Noble Suffolk County Council
Cllr Tim Oliver Surrey County Council

Cllr Shabir Pandor Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Roger Phillips Herefordshire Council
Cllr Leigh Redman Somerset County Council

Cllr Oliver Ryan Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr Tony Saffell North West Leicestershire District Council

Cllr Amanda Serjeant Chesterfield Borough Council

Cllr Bridget Smith South Cambridgeshire District Council

Cllr Lucy Stephenson
Cllr Rachel Sutton
Cllr Caroline Topping
Cllr Gerald Vernon
Rutland County Council
Exeter City Council
Suffolk County Council
Portsmouth City Council

Jackson CBE
Cllr Richard Wenham Central Bedfordshire Council

Cllr Andrew Western Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Paul Woodhead Cannock Chase District Council

Apologies

Cllr Sue Baxter Bromsgrove District Council
Cllr Richard Bingley Plymouth City Council
Cllr Abi Brown Stoke-on-Trent City Council

Cllr Louise Gittins Cheshire West and Chester Council
Cllr Claire Holland Lambeth London Borough Council

Cllr Brigid Jones Birmingham City Council

Cllr Colin Mann Caerphilly County Borough Council

Cllr Michael Payne Gedling Borough Council
Cllr Andrew Proctor Norfolk County Council
Mayor Marvin Rees Bristol City Council

Cllr Darren Rodwell Barking and Dagenham London Borough

Council

Cllr Vikki Slade Bournemouth. Christchurch and Poole

Council

Cllr Timothy Swift MBE Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Linda Taylor Cornwall Council

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Borough Council

Stevenage OBE
Cllr Sharon Thompson Birmingham City Council
Cllr Michael Wilcox Lichfield District Council